Dedicated Camden County Attorney Represents Drivers Accused Of Violating Traffic Statutes/Codes
Law enforcement dedicates significant resources to enforcing the traffic laws to ensure that we all can enjoy safe roads and highways. As a result, officers are always on the lookout for drivers who speed, don’t follow the rules of the road or are intoxicated behind the wheel.
If you receive a ticket for a seemingly minor traffic violation, you shouldn’t have to simply plead guilty and pay the ticket. Many traffic violation convictions will result in the imposition of points on your driving records; accumulating too many points can result in other consequences, including fines, increased auto insurance costs or even suspension of your license.
There are many options to fight a traffic ticket, including challenging the state’s proof of your violation or negotiating your offense down to a non-moving violation that does not impose long-lasting consequences on your record. If you are facing a traffic violation, contact my firm today to speak to me, attorney Stephen R. Piper, about your situation.
Traffic Statutes/Codes In Camden County, New Jersey
Many traffic violations in New Jersey impose penalties in the form of fines and motor vehicle points. The amount of motor vehicle points imposed depends on the specific offense; anywhere between two and eight points can be imposed for a particular offense. Examples of traffic offenses and their points include:
- Two points: Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; driving through safety zone; failure to obey traffic signals; failure to keep to the right; failure to obey officer directions; driving the wrong way on a one-way street; failure to yield to overtaking vehicle; failure to observe traffic lanes; failure to yield at intersection; failure to yield to emergency vehicles; careless driving; slow speed blocking traffic; exceeding speed limit by 1 mph to 14 mph over limit; failure to give proper signal; leaving the scene of an accident with no personal injury; and any moving violation committed out of state.
- Three points: Improper turn at traffic light; improper right or left turn; improper U-turn
- Four points: Improper passing; third or subsequent conviction within last five years for driving in an unsafe manner; exceeding the speed limit by 15 mph to 29 mph over the limit
- Five points: Racing; failure to pass to the right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction; tailgating; reckless driving; exceeding the speed limit by 30 mph or more over the limit; improper passing of a school bus
- Eight points: Leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury
Accumulating points on your driving record can have consequences. If you accumulate six or more points within three years, you will be charged a surcharge of $150 for up to three years plus $25 for each additional point over six. If you accumulate more than 12 points in three years, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days. Points come off your record at a rate of three points per year, provided you do not commit any new violations in the year.
Finally, certain traffic statute violations can carry more severe penalties, including hefty fines and jail or prison time. For example, a reckless driving conviction, in addition to a fine and points on the driving record, can result in a jail sentence and suspension of one’s driving privileges, the length of which depends on how many convictions one has. Of course, serious traffic offenses, such as DWI or vehicular homicide, can lead to incarceration and potential extended or permanent loss of driving privileges.
Defending Clients Facing Traffic Citations In New Jersey
When you are facing the prospect of defending yourself against a traffic citation or arrest for violating traffic statutes/codes, having dedicated legal representation on your side can mean the difference between a simple fine and other consequences that can follow you for a lifetime.
I have the experience you need in a traffic violation defense attorney. As a former prosecutor, I understand how other prosecutors build and argue traffic violation cases. I also understand how failing to contest a traffic violation today can result in consequences that can haunt you for years, including increased insurance costs or the loss of your driving privileges.
I am familiar with the traffic and municipal courts in Camden County and throughout southern New Jersey and will use my experience and knowledge of the workings of the courts to help you try to obtain dismissal of your ticket, if possible, or negotiate your offense down to a non-moving violation, which imposes no points on your driving record.
Contact My Office Today To Schedule A Consultation
If you’ve been cited or arrested for a traffic violation in Camden County, you may be facing consequences more severe than a simple fine. You need an experienced traffic violations attorney who can help you defend against your citation or arrest and help you minimize any potential consequences of a traffic offense conviction. Contact The Law Offices of Stephen R. Piper, LLC, online or call me at 856-333-3586 today to schedule a consultation to discuss your legal rights and options and learn more about how I can help you in your case.
Frequently Asked Questions About Traffic Statutes/Codes In Camden County
Can violating traffic statutes/codes affect my car insurance rates?
Yes. When auto insurance companies provide you with a rate quote, they will invariably review your driving record. Every traffic violation you commit in New Jersey will appear on your driving record. Even having one traffic violation can raise your insurance rates by as much as 10% to 15%. Committing traffic violations can affect your insurance rates for the rest of your life since New Jersey does not permit traffic violations to be expunged from your driving record. However, over time, insurance companies may afford less and less importance to a traffic violation, provided you do not commit other violations in the meantime.
What is a ‘strict liability’ traffic offense?
A strict liability offense is one where the state is not required to prove that you intended to commit the offense or that you had some other level of culpability or means with respect to the offense or the consequences of the offense. Many traffic statute/code violations are considered strict liability, since it is not necessary for a police officer or the state to prove that you intended to commit the traffic violation to cite you for it. For example, a police officer does not need to prove that you intended to drive over the speed limit or commit an illegal left turn, only that you did so. Even accidental violations of many traffic statutes/codes can result in citations.