Seasoned New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney Represents Clients Who Face Sexual Assault Charges In Camden And Burlington Counties, New Jersey
If you have been accused of sexual assault in New Jersey, it is critical that you contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to fight these charges immediately. A conviction for a sex crime can dramatically alter your life, potentially leading to years in prison and lifetime sex offender registration requirements. Even a mere accusation that you sexually assaulted someone can ruin your reputation, leading to problems in your personal relationships and your career while diminishing your standing in the community. A seasoned and reputable New Jersey criminal defense attorney can investigate your sexual assault case and take all possible actions to negotiate reduced charges or even have the case dismissed outright.
I am attorney Stephen Piper, and I understand that sexual assault cases are extremely sensitive. I will fight to protect your reputation in the community. I will also zealously advocate on your behalf in and out of the courtroom. As I work to protect your rights, I will leave no stone unturned in investigating the circumstances surrounding the alleged sexual assault. You can count on me to interview and evaluate witnesses as well as examine each and every piece of the state’s evidence in order to uncover any potential weakness in the prosecution’s case.
Types Of Sexual Assault Charges
Sexual assault is generally the legal term used in New Jersey for rape or for other types of criminal sexual contact with individuals who are statutorily determined to be too young to consent to sexual activity. New Jersey law divides sexual assault charges into two categories:
- Aggravated sexual assault, which is a first-degree crime
- Sexual assault, which is a second-degree crime
An individual can be charged with aggravated sexual assault, which carries much harsher penalties than sexual assault, in any of the following circumstances under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2:
- The victim is younger than 13 years old.
- The victim is at least 13 years old but is younger than 16, and the accused individual has some form of supervisory or family relationship to the victim.
- The assault was committed in conjunction with another crime or attempted crime, including robbery, kidnapping, homicide, aggravated assault, burglary, arson or criminal escape.
- The accused individual was armed with a weapon or an object that appeared to be a weapon and threatened verbally or physically to use the weapon.
- The accused individual was aided by another person and used physical force or coercion.
- The accused individual used physical force or coercion, and the victim was severely injured.
- The victim has mental deficits that prevented the victim from understanding their conduct or effectively providing consent, and the accused knew or should have known of the mental incapacitation.
Second-degree sexual assault occurs if an individual who is at least four years older than the victim has sexual contact with any person under age 13. A second-degree sexual assault charge will apply if the victim is at least 16 but younger than 18, and the accused individual has some form of supervisory or family relationship to the victim. Rape is also classified as a second-degree sexual assault in New Jersey if the victim does not sustain a physical injury but the accused individual used physical force or coercion in committing the act.
Moorestown Sex Crimes Attorney Understands How A Conviction For Sexual Assault In New Jersey Can Impact Your Future
The penalties for sexual assault in New Jersey can be extremely severe. Potential prison time ranges from five to 10 years in a second-degree sexual assault case, and prison time can set for up to 20 years if the state can prove that the sexual assault was aggravated. Importantly, Megan’s Law will make it almost impossible for the conviction to ever be removed from the convicted person’s record.
An individual who is convicted of sexual assault in New Jersey may also be required to register on national and New Jersey sex offender registries for life, which means that the convicted person’s picture will be posted online and that person will be labeled as a sex offender. In some cases, lifetime supervision will be imposed in order to restrict the convicted person’s ability to travel or even obtain unrestricted access to the internet. This not only will impact the convicted individual’s ability to regain their standing in the community, but it can also detrimentally impact rehabilitation and future employment prospects.
Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Attorney Vigorously Defends Clients Against Sexual Assault Charges In South Jersey
Individuals who are accused of sexual assault of any kind in South Jersey should take the accusation incredibly seriously and contact an experienced and reputable New Jersey criminal defense attorney immediately. The skilled legal team at The Law Offices of Stephen R. Piper, LLC, in Moorestown will work tirelessly to formulate an effective and aggressive defense to your sexual assault charges after carefully evaluating the state’s evidence. I understand that even a charge of sexual assault can severely alter your life. I make vigorously defending my clients a priority in each case.
Contact me today by using my online form or calling 856-333-3586 to arrange your initial consultation so that I can begin investigating your case as soon as possible.