If you were arrested for a DUI over Memorial Day weekend, call the Law Office of Stephen R. Piper in Moorestown, NJ for a consultation.
Memorial Day is the official start of summer for many. Memorial Day celebrations often include BBQs by the water. A lot of people will also celebrate with a cold drink or two. Before you kick off your summer, consider how a drunk driving charge can affect you, as well as how to handle it if you receive one.
DUI Consequences in New Jersey
The consequences for DUI charges in New Jersey depend on whether it is your first offense or if you have priors. It also matters how far above the BAC legal limit you were at the time of the arrest.
Drivers with a BAC higher than .10 and who have had prior offenses will receive the harshest of legal consequences. Potential consequences may include:
- A minimum of a $1,000 fines
- A maximum of 90 days of community service
- Required attendance in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Insurance surcharges
- 180 days of jail time
- License suspension of up to 10 years
Even first-time offenders with a BAC over .08 percent, but lower than .10 percent, will receive consequences like:
- Suspended license up to three months
- A minimum of 12 hours of jail time
- Legal fines up to $400
- Insurance surcharges
- Ignition interlock system
- Alcohol abuse assessments
DUIs can also have lasting effects on your life. They may be used against you when negotiating child custody or during a background check for employment.
How to Avoid a DUI Charge This Memorial Day
Here are a few tips to avoid a DUI charge this Memorial Day:
Schedule Alternative Transportation
Consider asking a friend for a ride home from your Memorial Day celebrations or using a rideshare. If you have alternative transportation, you are more likely to use it than to get behind the wheel.
Know Your Limits
If you plan on having a drink or two, know your limits. Then, stick to that limit. Keep in mind that if you take medication or eat less than usual, this may affect your limits.
Drink Plenty of Water
When you mix alcohol with heat and minimal fluids, you may feel the effects even more. Be sure to have a cup of water after every drink to maintain a safe and legal BAC limit.
Know How to Handle a DUI
Do you know what to do if you’re arrested for a DUI? What if you don’t believe that your BAC was over the legal limit? Do you have any rights? Who can you call to help? Considering these things ahead of time can help you make the right decisions. Calling a lawyer may be in your best interest when it comes to DUI charges.
Even if you believe you are under the legal limit, it is best to never refuse a test. Even if you don’t agree with the allegations, it is best to take the test and then build your defense later. In the same sense, while you do want to work with the officer, you shouldn’t give them consent to search your vehicle or home without a lawyer present. Protect your future from the potential consequences by reaching out to a knowledgeable New Jersey lawyer.
Contact an Experienced Pemberton DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at The Law Office of Stephen R. Piper, LLC represents clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Pemberton, Mount Laurel, Burlington Township, Mapleshade, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-333-3586 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation about your case.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.