According to the law, every individual who gets behind the wheel of a vehicle has a general duty to provide for other people’s safety. That means drivers have a legal responsibility to drive as safely as possible.
In the past, getting convicted of a DUI in New Jersey automatically meant that you’d lose your driving privileges. Now, you may still be permitted to drive with the help of advanced technology. Get your full guide to the new DUI laws below.
Your Guide to New Jersey’s DUI Laws
Operating a motor vehicle while you’re impaired is a crime. In New Jersey, you’ll get charged with a DUI when officers find you have a blood alcohol concentration greater than .08% or more. You can also be charged with this crime if officers suspect you were driving under the influence of a prescription drug, narcotic, hallucinogen or another type of controlled substance.
The first time you’re convicted of this crime, you’ll be subject to the following penalties:
- Imprisonment (up to 30 days)
- Fines ($250-$400)
- Up to 48 hours of alcohol education courses
A new law was passed in New Jersey that will allow offenders to forgo the three-month driver’s license suspension. They’ll have the option to put an ignition interlock system on their car instead. The offender will be the one who pays for the device, and the device will prevent the driver from starting their car when they have a BAC above the legal limit.
If you’ve already been convicted of a DUI in the past, then a second charge will come with heavier penalties. You may not be eligible for the interlock device. You could instead be sentenced to:
- Imprisonment (up to 30 days)
- 48 hours of alcohol education courses
- Fines ($300-$500)
- Driver’s license suspension (up to one year)
- Mandatory Ignition interlock device for 6 months to one year
Any subsequent charges will be met with even steeper penalties.
Know Your Rights
Regardless of your actions, you do have rights. You have a right to not incriminate yourself, which means you don’t have to admit to officers that you’ve been drinking. You also have a right to hire a legal representative who can help you defend yourself against criminal charges. When you’ve been charged with a crime, it’s important to use these rights to your advantage.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Stephen R. Piper represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, Cumberland County, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-351-5335 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 212 W Route 38, Ste 440, Moorestown, New Jersey, 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.